One Day – David Nicholls

From Goodreads: “Emma and Dexter meet for the first time on the night of their graduation. Tomorrow they must go their separate ways. So where will they be on this one day next year? And the year after that? And every year that follows? Twenty years, two people, ONE DAY.”

I originally picked this book up after hearing all the hype on it. And the fact that the date in which these characters meet every year falls on my best friends birthday was just another incentive to give it a go. This is probably one of the most realistic love stories out there. And I’m using “Love Story” lightly as the book mostly centers around their friendship. This is a raw telling of the friendship-turned-lovers story between a boy and a girl who met on the night of their graduation. Dexter is a very pretentious, cares more about himself, type of guy. This made him at times very unlikable. Emma is a smart young woman who lack self confidence. The characters were so down to earth and real, they were very easy to relate to. I enjoyed this book a lot!

Rating 4/5

The movie is coming out tomorrow! I cannot wait to see it. I wasn’t too pleased that Anne Hathaway was chosen to play the part as Emma. Not that she is a terrible actor or anything but I personally do not see her as Emma. I’m hoping my boyfriend will be willing to go see this with me! *crosses fingers*

Leave a Reply

