Day 7: Book That You Can Quote/Recite

 

I don’t usually remember too many quotes from books. Instead I write my favorites down and store them for future use. However, Choke by Chuck Palahniuk has some of my favorite quotes that I can recall off hand. One of those quotes is:

“What I want is to be needed. What I need is to be indispensable to somebody. Who I need is somebody that will eat up all my free time, my ego, my attention. Somebody addicted to me. A mutual addiction.”

Hence the web link and username ‘eatupmyfreetime’

From Shelfari: “Victor Mancini, a medical-school dropout, is an antihero for our deranged times. Needing to pay elder care for his mother, Victor has devised an ingenious scam: he pretends to choke on pieces of food while dining in upscale restaurants. He then allows himself to be “saved” by fellow patrons who, feeling responsible for Victor’s life, go on to send checks to support him. When he’s not pulling this stunt, Victor cruises sexual addiction recovery workshops for action, visits his addled mom, and spends his days working at a colonial theme park.”

Leave a Reply

