Left Neglected – Lisa Genova

From Goodreads: “Sarah Nickerson, like any other working mom, is busy trying to have it all. One morning while racing to work and distracted by her cell phone, she looks away from the road for one second too long. In that blink of an eye, all the rapidly moving parts of her over-scheduled life come to a screeching halt. After a brain injury steals her awareness of everything on her left side, Sarah must retrain her mind to perceive the world as a whole. In so doing, she also learns how to pay attention to the people and parts of her life that matter most.

In this powerful and poignant New York Times bestseller, Lisa Genova explores what can happen when we are forced to change our perception of everything around us. Left Neglected is an unforgettable story about finding abundance in the most difficult of circumstances, learning to pay attention to the details, and nourishing what truly matters.”

This is the second novel written by Lisa Genova, and it is just as captivating as her first. Still Alice took us on a ride through the world of Alzheimer’s. It was a touching story told from the eyes of the patient, struggling to deal with the disease. Left Neglected follows the same suit, however, we’re launched into the world of a neglectful brain. Sarah Nickerson does not have a left side, or left awareness. Physically, everything is good. She has two hands, both legs, both eyes, but her brain believes only in the Right. She only sees one side of the room, one side of her plate, one side of her body, yet everything appears normal to her. How do you recover from something you do not comprehend? It’s tough, and we learn through Sarah’s struggles just how hard this can be.

Left Neglected was a real page turner. Lacking knowledge in the inner workings of the brain, I wasn’t sure if I would be able to follow along. Lisa Genova made it simple with explanations and a likable character. Following a workaholic mother and wife, is all too relatable for a lot of people. I couldn’t put this book down. The story was so entrancing, I kept picturing myself in the same situation and in doing so felt a kinship to Sarah. What would I do in her situation? Would I be as strong? Would my family stick by me in this tough time? A sign of a good writer and great story is when the reader transports herself into the novel; and I did just that!

If you’re looking for a mind bending book about a topic rarely heard about, this ones for you. Genova has sparked a new interest for myself; the world of the brain. I cannot wait to see what she writes about next!

Rating – 4/5

2 thoughts on “Left Neglected – Lisa Genova

  1. kristilyn says:

    Great review. I absolutely adore Lisa Genova and wish she had more books for me to read! I’m like you, the one thing I love is the fact that I can follow along, that she doesn’t use a lot of medical terms that I wouldn’t have a clue about. I can’t wait until she releases her next book–whenever that will be!

Leave a Reply

