The Shining – Stephen King

From Goodreads: “Danny is only five years old, but he is a ‘shiner’, aglow with psychic voltage. When his father becomes caretaker of an old hotel, his visions grow out of control. Cut off by blizzards, the hotel seems to develop an evil force, and who are the mysterious guests in the supposedly empty hotel?”

This was my very first Stephen King novel, and definitely not my last! I wasn’t sure if I was ever going to get around to reading any of his books. He produces so many books, year after year, that I questioned the quality that they may possess. How can someone write SO many great novels in one life span? But reading the reviews, and hearing people commenting highly about his work, I had to give it a chance.

The Shining was a great place to start. I love to fit in ‘eerie’ reads in the Month of October. Something about fall, and halloween approaching has me craving a scare! I’m not going to shield the fact that I’ve seen The Shining (movie) many times. I knew what was going to happen, and anticipated the shocking story lines. But normally, if I’ve seen the movie first the book usually doesn’t fare well with me. This was quite the contrary! I was hooked. His writing style is beautifully simplistic, and wonderfully descriptive. I felt the moments of terror, I envisioned the hotel and all that happened within. King made it easy to follow along, to stay hooked within the story.

The story centers around three main characters – Danny, Jack and Wendy. Danny is a bright 5-year-old boy with a special talent. He has the shining. This talent allows him to see the dead, see the unnatural and hear other peoples thoughts. Jack, Danny’s father, is a man with an abusive past both at the hands of himself and his father. He started drinking heavily, lost his temper and then lost his job. With no other options, he accepts the job as a caretaker at the Overlook Hotel. He brings along his family, Wendy and Danny, to keep him company in the long secluded months. Wendy is unsure if this is a good idea or not but she agrees to this arrangement not wanting to separate her son for the man he idolizes.

The Overlook is a nasty hotel, with a slew of supernatural within its walls. Jack, being an easy target is recruited to the Hotels cause. Horror, suspense, unlikely occurrences take the readers on a wild ride as the family tries to survive within these horrible walls. Dick Hallorann, another with the shining, befriends Danny the day they arrive at the Overlook. He holds crucial to their survival.

I must say that I am glad I jumped on this bandwagon. I was thoroughly impressed with is work! I’ve now added the rest of his work to my ‘Must Read’ pile!

Rating – 4/5

5 thoughts on “The Shining – Stephen King

  1. kristilyn says:

    This is awesome! I’ve had The Shining for awhile now but haven’t read it. I’m planning to next year … I agree, though. Stephen King comes out with a lot of titles … if I like this one, it’ll be hard to catch up! Good review! πŸ™‚

    • Shannon's Book Blog says:

      I will have to check out The Green Mile! I haven’t seen the movie but I’ve heard its a favorite amongst many people. Is there a reason that the book was published in many parts? Is it more of a series? or Did they just break up the novel due to size or something?

Leave a Reply

