Mood Reading

btt button

Do you find that your mood affects the things you read? Like, if you’re in a bad mood, do you tend to indulge in reading that will support it or do you try to read things that will cheer you up? Do you pick different types of books on dreary, rainy days than you do on bright sunny ones?

For that matter, does your mood color what you’re reading, so that a funny book isn’t so funny or a serious one not so deep?

I’ve never really noticed my moods reflected through the book I am reading. Perhaps the initial mood I am in while choosing my next read does affect what I pick. But afterwards, I stick with the book no matter what. I do pick books based on what I “feel” like reading. I tend to read a lot of synopses’ until I find one that sticks out. Never looked further into whether the types of books match the mood I am in (happy story for happy mood, sad story for sad mood, etc.)

As for my mood coloring what I am reading, not really. Once I am reading I tend to get lost in the book so my mood changes along with the tone of the piece I am reading.

What about you?

3 thoughts on “Mood Reading

  1. Sierra says:

    I agree! I can’t choose a new book whenever I feel like it!
    Though I do hover over reading (and rereading) synopsis’ until I’m 100% positive I’m ready to start that book. If I’m not feeling it, I know I shouldn’t start it–I may end up hating it because I’m not in the “mood” to read a fluffy romance!

    🙂 Great answer & thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

