Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins

From Goodreads: “Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark won the annual competition described in Hunger Games, but the aftermath leaves these victors with no sense of triumph. Instead, they have become the poster children for a rebellion that they never planned to lead. That new, unwanted status puts them in the bull’s-eye for merciless revenge by The Capitol…”

I devoured this book whole, unable to part with it while anxiously awaiting the 3rd in the trilogy. If you haven’t read the Hunger Games or Catching Fire I just have one thing to say to you: WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU?! Read this now!!

I wasn’t sure how Suzanne Collins would continue with the trilogy after the first book. Her choice of story line for the second book was a pleasant shock. I did not see it coming. I don’t know how to jump in to describing the books’ plot without giving everything away, so I’m going to spare you. Just know that this book is worth the read. It is a well written Young Adult book that I feel transcends well to Adulthood. No matter your age, give it a go! It has romance, action, family dynamics and strength among the people of the Districts, even in tough times.

Now I need to get my hands on Mockingjay!

Rating – 5/5

2 thoughts on “Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins

  1. mywordlyobsessions says:

    There must be something wrong with me for sure, for I haven’t got round to reading ‘Hunger Games’ yet. I feel like a moron! But I blame it on lack of time… I swear I’m gonna get round to these this year. I have to read more teen books anyway – it’s a reluctant goal I’ve set myself *yuck*

    BTW Shannon, the picture of your bookshelf looks exactly like mine. lol!

    • Shannon's Book Blog says:

      Let me know what you think of the Hunger Games once you do get around to reading it! I absolutely adore this trilogy and have gotten so many hooked on it too!

      haha glad to have a similar book shelf out there! Mine has significantly grown!

Leave a Reply

