Second First Time – Booking Through Thursday

btt button

We all know the beauty of reading a really wonderful book for the first time—when everything about the story and the writing and the timing click to make a reader’s perfect storm … but it’s fleeting, because you can never read that book for the first time again.

So … if you could magically reset things so that you had the chance to read a favorite book/series again for the first time … which would you choose? And why?

And then, since tastes change … Do you think it would have the same affect on you, reading it now, as it did when you read it the first time? Would you love it just as much? Would you risk it?

If I was given the chance to read something for the first time all over again, I think I would choose Harry Potter. This series was so magical and exciting, it was one of the reasons my love for reading soared. I couldn’t put it down, and have since ventured in to other novels as a direct reult from it.

 

Since tastes change, I do not think I would have to worry about loving it any less. I may have grown up, but I still adore reading Childrens/Young Adult literature with just as much enthusiasm. My only worry would be whether or not my love for reading would have still developped without reading Harry Potter when I did.

So, whether I would risk it? I think not. As much as I would love to experience this series all over again, my passion for books trumps it. I think I read it at a great time in my life and wouldn’t change a thing!

What about you? What book would you re-read?

Shannon

This is a weekly meme about books and reading. Hop on over to Booking Through Thursday to join in!

5 thoughts on “Second First Time – Booking Through Thursday

  1. Carol Donaldson says:

    What a great question. What book would I like to read again? Maybe Lonesome Traveller by Jack Kerouac but mainly because I would like to relive the summer I first read it and rediscover the boy that gave it to me!

Leave a Reply

