Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

attachments

From Goodreads: “Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . ”

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke. When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories. By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself. What would he say . . . ?”

Dear Rainbow Rowell,

I don’t know how you do it but every single book you write is so damn good! You have me hooked from the very first page! Please do not ever stop writing!!!

Signed,

Eatupmyfreetime ❤

Seriously, this books is just as good and addictive as Eleanor & Park and Fangirl! I could not put it down! This author is a master with words and the creation of quirky characters, putting them in story lines that capture and hook readers on to every-single-word.

I must admit, I wasn’t so sure about the premises of this book. I mean… this guy is reading her emails?! Doesn’t that sound stalkerish and creepy? How can that be romantic? But it is, it really is! Somehow Lincoln convinces the reader that he isn’t some uber gross creep, but instead he shows us just how much he can care for someone he hasn’t even met. He falls in love with her words and her personality, not her looks. What could be more swoon worthy than that?!

And lets just put aside the romantic aspect to this book for a moment. How can I get an amazing  work friendship like Beth and Jennifer?! Their dialogues had me laughing out loud (seriously!) I had me wanting to start emailing my work friends (and everyone I know) so I could be as cool and awesome as they two women are. The way they approach each other and tough topics shows a real and strong friendship. Who doesn’t want that?

I love the mix of e-mail dialogues and Lincoln’s life. It makes the story move so easily. And it is just so damn interesting!

I want to stand up and shout out my love for Rainbow Rowell and her books. People need to pick them up and read them ASAP!!

Do it! Do it! And then we can discuss how much we alllllll love her!

Rating – 4.5/5

20140221-130312.jpg

Leave a Reply

