Mystery – Booking Through Thursday

btt2

 

Do you read mystery novels? If so, why? Is it the mysteries themselves that appeal to you? The puzzle-solving? The murders? Or why don’t you read them? What about them doesn’t appeal?

I love a good mystery. I love the puzzle-solving aspect and the fact that it keeps you guessing until the end. Sometimes it is nice not being able to predict an ending and being genuinely surprised by the outcome. I don’t read them often because I do have to be in the mood for it b I do enjoy mysreries..even the “fluffy” ones that have silly premises. What about you?

10 thoughts on “Mystery – Booking Through Thursday

  1. Michael says:

    I’ve not read many of the lighter mysteries until recently and I’ve found them enjoyable in a different way than the “hard boiled” mysteries I generally prefer.

  2. ajoobacats says:

    I like to be shocked and rocked to the core with a dastardly revelation that turns the world created by the book upside down. I like to be haunted by a twist I never saw coming.

  3. Madame Vauquer says:

    I read for the characters. That’s probably why I read mostly series mysteries with only occasional forays into one shots. I usually get quite attached to the characters and what will happen to them in the next book and the next. The mystery part has to be pretty lame to spoil the book for me, although sometimes it does happen.

    • Shannon says:

      Series’ are the best. I tend to go towards those instead of singles too. If I am going to invest in a character then I’d rather they stick around for awhile!

  4. The Broken Spine says:

    Hmm ‘fluffy’, I’ve never heard mysteries referred to that way. I like it. Coworkers have recommended I read Janet Evanovich, whose works I consider fluff. I much prefer hard core mysteries. What ‘fluff’ mystery writers have your read?

    • Shannon says:

      Hardcore is definitely better but sometimes a good fluff is all you need to unwind after a long day. My go-to fluff writer is Charlaine Harris (author of Trueblood.) She has a few mystery series. I’ve read some of the Harper Connelly and Aurora Teagarden ones! I have also read a couple of mysteries set in Libraries (haha I am such a nerd) and those were pretty fun. Don’t remember the authors names though. I haven’t read Janet Evanovich.

  5. Madame Vauquer says:

    I read Evanovich for the humor. They are hilarious, not your typical mystery solvers. Not a lot to the actual mystery parts of most of them, although a couple have given me that turned upside-down on my head feeling. It’s definitely characters for the Stephanie Plum (inept bounty hunter) series.

Leave a Reply

