Musing Mondays (Aug 25)

20140505-133301.jpgMusing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

This is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading.

Random Thought of the Day:

I have an ereader (Kobo Touch) that I barely use. I won it through a contest, tried it out, and realized I wasn’t a huge fan of reading on it.. especially when the battery dies. No fun. There are so many reasons why I prefer a real book over an ereader: the look and feel of books, the fact that people can see what I am reading/it can become a conversation starter, and mostly the way they look all lined up on my bookshelves.

However

I really wanted to get my hands on Lola and the Boy Next Door and Isla and the Happily Ever After and didn’t want to wait for an opportunity to head over to the bookstore so I downloaded copies of both to read on my Kobo. And guess what I discovered? I actually read FASTER on an ereader than with a traditional book. What the heck is with that?! I guess I find it easier to read because it is lighter than an actual book and my hands do not tire as quickly. And maybe seeing my progress displayed as a percentage motivates me to hit 100% complete faster. Whatever the reason for it I am quite surprised by the fact that I get through books at a much faster pace. Interesting.

What are you musing about this Monday?

12 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (Aug 25)

  1. Madame Vauquer says:

    Not having to hold those heavy books is definitely a bonus! I read a lot of classics since I’m hooked on several 19th Century authors. So what I find that I use mine for mainly is all the free ebooks that are in public domain.

  2. bookmammal says:

    I don’t read via my kindle very often, but when I do it does seem as though I do read faster. One thing I notice is that it’s harder for me to remember what I read on my kindle–maybe because once you “turn” a page you have to make more of an effort to go back. Or maybe because I am reading faster. Not sure why. I do love my kindle when I travel, but for the most part nothing will replace “real” books for me!

    • Shannon says:

      hmm, I haven’t noticed about how much or little I am retaining from the books. I will have to pay attention more. Travelling is definitely made easier with an e-reader. When I travel with actual hard copy books I end up having to take a separate bag for them.. they take up a lot of space!

      I’m with you though.. nothing can replace real books for me too 😉

  3. cleopatralovesbooks says:

    Given the choice I prefer to read real books but I do read lots on my kindle. It is definitely easier on the hands, particularly for a heavy book and yes I think I read slightly faster on it too. I do like the option to highlight quotes on it because I’d never remember where they were in a real book as I can’t possibly write in a book!

    • Shannon says:

      oooh I never even considered highlighting quotes with my e-reader!! Thats a great idea. I cannot write in my books either! Not unless its a textbook and sometimes I don’t even mark those up!

Leave a Reply

