Bookshelf Organization

photo-2

 

The second week in October marks my move into the new house and with it comes the opportunity to re-organize my bookshelf!

Now the big question.. How should I organize it? By author? Title? Colour? Genre? There are way too many options!

I originally had each box filled with books whose authors last names started with A, or B, or C, etc. (ie. Box 1 was A. Box 2 was B, etc) but the more books I bought made it harder to keep up. Luckily I will be able to fit some more bookshelves in the new house so I don’ty have to over-pile the books on this one bookcase.

 

How are your shelves organized?

6 thoughts on “Bookshelf Organization

    • Shannon says:

      That is pretty much how my shelves went. It was easier piling the new books in an available space than re-organizing to make it fit in the right spot!

      Thanks for sharing!

    • Shannon says:

      Genre is a good one! I am tempted to do it that way because sometimes I just want to read a certain type of book (like YA or classic..etc.)

      Thanks for the link! I will vote!

  1. Madame Vauquer says:

    My organization, such as it is, lol, is first by size because I have shelves of three different heights – paperback size, most hard cover and trade paperback sizes, over-sized books. Then, within the three different sizes, they’re pretty much grouped by genre and author, but that’s not a stringent requirement. A lot of what’s up next or soon tends to creep in.

    • Shannon says:

      Ooh you don’t hear too many people organize by size! I like it! The new books always make it to the front of my shelves too lol. It is too hard to constantly organize them in to the proper order when I buy at high volumes πŸ˜‰ lol I should really stop buying books for awhile!

      Thanks for responding!

Leave a Reply

