The Saddest Day: RIP Richard Gilmore

December 31st, 2014 marked the saddest day for Ed Herrmann and Gilmore Girls fans. Our beloved Richard Gilmore passed away from battling brain cancer.

IMG_2304

I’ve been a huge fan of Gilmore Girls since the day it aired on TV.  I followed this mother-daughter duo from the very beginning and continue to watch to-this-day the girls, their family, friends, and love interests in the quirky town of Stars Hollow. i.e. HUGE fan over here!! So it only seemed fitting to dedicate a post to the Grandfather of the show: Ed Hermmann/Richard Gilmore.

“When we were casting the part of Richard on Gilmore Girls, we all sat around saying, ‘If we could only get Ed Herrmann.’ So we sent the script to his agent who said Ed will come in and meet, but he won’t read. We said fine — great. Set it up. The agent said, ‘But I need you to understand — he will not read.’ We said we get it — no reading. The agent said, ‘He’s Ed Herrmann. He’s worked with Woody Allen! He was in Reds! He will not, under any circumstances, read!’ We were like ‘Hey, if he’ll even sit down and talk to us, we’d be honored.’ So Ed came in. He sat down and said, ‘I like it. It’s funny. Should I read?’ We sat there in stunned silence as Ed opened the script and proceeded to read. And just like that, Richard Gilmore was sitting in front of us. And that’s when I knew this show was charmed… To our patriarch, I thank you. I miss you. And I could never repay you.” – Amy Sherman-Palladino (creator)

“We, the Gilmore Girls family, are so terribly sad and somewhat stunned. We only learned about his illness a week or so ago. I got a call from [Edward’s wife] Star Monday night asking if I wanted to come to the hospital to say good-bye. I went yesterday and was able to give Ed love from Lauren [Graham], Alexis [Bledel] and Amy [Sherman-Palladino]… I have so many fond memories of our time together on Gilmore Girls and since, mainly via email. I think everyone who knew or worked with Ed found him to be absolutely delightful… Everything looks a little dim, as if the lights went down.” -Kelly Bishop (Emily Gilmore)

“My friend Ed Herrmann was the kindest, classiest, most talented man. It was an honor and a joy to know him, a devastating blow to lose him.” -Lauren Graham (Lorelai Gilmore)

“Ed Herrmann was a wonderful actor and a kind man. He was endlessly knowledgeable about theater, TV and film, and would generously share his wisdom or tell stories from a long and rewarding career. I am grateful to him for that, and will miss him tremendously. He loved acting and was the head of our Gilmore family with his strong presence and great sense of humor. May he rest in peace.” -Alexis Bledel (Rory Gilmore)

“RIP #EdwardHerrmann I was lucky to know you. I can’t imagine what #GilmoreGirls would have been like w/o you. ❤ to your Family.” – Keiko Agena (Lane Kim)

 

R.I.P Richard Gilmore 😦

2 thoughts on “The Saddest Day: RIP Richard Gilmore

  1. Nikki E. says:

    I love The Gilmore Girls as well, and when my sister texted me with the news I was definitely heartbroken…to the point that I haven’t been quite ready to watch Gilmore Girls. I know the first time I watch it now, I’m going to cry.

    • Shannon says:

      😦 the first time I watched it after the news was definitely hard. But so worth it. Seeing him alive and well and florishing as Richard Gilmore made it a little easier! Xox

Leave a Reply

