Musing Mondays (July 20)

20140505-133301.jpgMusing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

This is a weekly meme hosted by A Daily Rhythm

I recently bought one of the most anticipated/controversial reads of the year: Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee. I love love love TKAM and so I was drawn to this book immediately – always curious to know what happened to some of my favourite characters.. but the way in which this book was brought to light is kind of a turn off. Not to mention the negative reviews that keep popping up! My “need-to-know” definitely won when it came to whether I should purchase this book or not. But now that I have it I am not sure I can pick it up right away. Did this book really kill the Atticus we all knew and loved?? Please say no! 😦

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Are you able to read while in a vehicle (in motion)? Have you always been this way?

I can read in a moving vehicle without getting sick. I have never had any issues with it but I know so many people who can’t! My only negative about car reading is that I get super distracted by the world passing by me.. I am always finding myself staring out the window!

What are you musing about this Monday?

5 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (July 20)

  1. Marsha @ Keeper Bookshelf says:

    Go Set A Watchman. I am so divided on whether I’ll read it. I should, I really should to get the entire story… but I don’t know if I can stand to know (if that makes sense). Eventually I’m sure curiosity will get the best of me, but for now – I don’t want to know. And if that makes me a story coward, so be it. 😦

    My WoW

    • Shannon says:

      It does make sense. I wish Harper really wanted this book out.. and that it was actually intended as a sequel and not a first draft of TKAM. I may wait until the hype dies down before I pick this up!

  2. Michael says:

    I just finished Go Set a Watchman.

    There were parts I enjoyed and parts that I didn’t. I’m afraid that the parts I didn’t outweighed the parts that I liked.

    It doesn’t diminish my love for TKAM in any way, though. In fact, I love it more now.

    • Shannon says:

      I am sorry to hear that it wasn’t all that great but I am super happy that it didn’t ruin TKAM for you! That is one of my biggest “fears” with this book! TKAM is such a classic. I would hate for this new book to have such a negative impact on it for me.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      • Michael says:

        The book seems to have a fairly polarizing effect on people. I’ve seen some people who enjoyed it and feel it’s a nice compliment to TKAM . And others who are, well, let’s just say less happy.

Leave a Reply

