Along Came A Spider by James Patterson

Along_Came_A_Spider_1993_cover

From Goodreads: “A missing little girl named Maggie Rose . . . a family of three brutally murdered in the projects of Washington, D.C. . . . the thrill-killing of a beautiful elementary school teacher . . . a psychopathic serial kidnapper/murderer who is so terrifying that the FBI, the Secret Service, and the police cannot outsmart him – even after he’s been captured.

Gary Soneji wants to commit the crime of the century. Alex Cross is the brilliant homicide detective pitted against him. Jezzie Flanagan is the first female supervisor of the Secret Service who completes one of the most unusual suspense triangles in any thriller you have ever read.”

Readers seem to have a “Love him or Hate him” relationship with James Patterson. His work is either praised or torn to shreds. This is partly why it took me so long to pick up one of his books. The other reason – he is usually categorized under the “cheap supermarket thrills,” those books that people pick up on discount at the supermarket for easy entertainment. Though I have nothing wrong with that it isn’t usually the type of books I enjoy. This book was my first and I don’t think it will be my last!

I really enjoyed Along Came a Spider. It had enough going on to keep me interested, I like Alex Cross and I enjoy stories where the killer messes with your mind. This had it all and it was a super easy book to read too. Alex is that good cop who wants to keep his family and city safe. He is likeable and admirable. He fights for what he believes in. What is not to like about that? And then there is the other voice – that of Gary Soneji that allows the reader to glimpse the mind of a very sick man. Having the two main characters, a symbol of good and bad, switch between chapter-to-chapter gives you the opportunity to dive deeper in to the story. It hooks you and keeps you guessing until the very end!

The only downside – I found the book to be a bit longer than needed. Some parts dragged on a little and would’ve helped the story if they were cut. I will be continuing with this series. I hope I enjoy the others as much as this one!

Rating 3/5

p.s. Just a warning – It seems that most people agree that the quality of the series diminishes the further in you get.

Leave a Reply

