Halloween 2015

pumpkin

I can’t believe it is almost Halloween! My favourite time of the year!! ❤

I was going to dedicate a whole post to awesome Halloween reads but realized I haven’t read enough ghoulish/scary/creepy reads to make a list so I opted for a “How I love to celebrate” post instead!

Back in my “younger days” I would use this holiday to get dressed up and hit the clubs. I am far too old for that now and I much prefer the comfort of home, cozy pjs, and lots of good movies!

So let’s get started!

Books

The past couple of Halloween’s I have been reading The Strain trilogy by Guillermo Del Toro. I enjoy the creepiness and dark nature of the books. It really sets the mood!

strain

From Goodreads: “A Boeing 777 arrives at JFK and is on its way across the tarmac, when it suddenly stops dead. All window shades are pulled down. All lights are out. All communication channels have gone quiet. Crews on the ground are lost for answers, but an alert goes out to the CDC. Dr. Ephraim “Eph” Goodweather, head of their Canary project, a rapid-response team that investigates biological threats, gets the call and boards the plane. What he finds makes his blood run cold.

In a pawnshop in Spanish Harlem, a former professor and survivor of the Holocaust named Abraham Setrakian knows something is happening. And he knows the time has come, that a war is brewing.

So begins a battle of mammoth proportions as the vampiric virus that has infected New York begins to spill out into the streets. Eph, who is joined by Setrakian and a motley crew of fighters, must now find a way to stop the contagion and save his city – a city that includes his wife and son – before it is too late.”

IMG_1777

A more recent read that I think would be perfect this time of year: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin.

From Goodreads: “Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can. She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is. She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love. She’s wrong.”

I am hoping to add some more titles this year! What are some of your fave Halloween reads?

Movies

There are so many great movies for this time of year!! From family fun to super scary – there is something for everyone!

Some of my fave movies to watch on or around Halloween are:

Halloweentown – I’ve watched this movie for yearsssss. It is one of those “once you see it on TV you know Halloween is just around the corner” movies. Plays every year on the Family Channel.

The Craft – I adoreeeeee this movie. Witches, teenagers, good, evil, magic! Everything you want or need in a witch movie!

Practical Magic – Another great witch movie! Put the lime in the coconut..Need I say more? haha

Casper – HOT DEVON SAWA! That is all.

The Nightmare before Christmas – A nice mix of the two upcoming holidays! So gooooood.

I can go on and on and on! So many great choices! Don’t forget to add The Simpsons Halloween specials!!

Home & Body

Pair up your book and movies with a lovely pumpkin spice candle!

And add some holiday spirit to your shower with Lord of Misrule by Lush! An addictive smell in a gorgeous green colour!

lom

There are so many awesome ways to celebrate this time of year. I am always looking for new ideas soooo share some of your fave ways to enjoy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

