Don’t You Cry by Mary Kubica

dyc

  • Title: Don’t You Cry
  • Author: Mary Kubica
  • Genre: Psychological thriller
  • Publication Date: May 17, 2016
  • Format: eARC from netgalley

From Goodreads:

“In downtown Chicago, a young woman named Esther Vaughan disappears from her apartment without a trace. A haunting letter addressed to My Dearest is found among her possessions, leaving her friend and roommate Quinn Collins to wonder where Esther is and whether or not she’s the person Quinn thought she knew.

Meanwhile, in a small Michigan harbor town an hour outside Chicago, a mysterious woman appears in the quiet coffee shop where eighteen-year-old Alex Gallo works as a dishwasher. He is immediately drawn to her charm and beauty, but what starts as an innocent crush quickly spirals into something far more dark and sinister than he ever expected.

As Quinn searches for answers about Esther, and Alex is drawn further under the stranger’s spell, master of suspense Mary Kubica takes readers on a taut and twisted thrill ride that builds to a stunning conclusion and shows that no matter how fast and far we run, the past always catches up with us in the end.”

My Review:

I loved The Good Girl.. so when I came across this book on netgalley I put in a request for an eARC because I MUST HAVE IT. The reviews for Don’t You Cry on Goodreads are all pretty positive. Based on my previous Kubica read and the positive reviews – I had high expectations for this book.

Unfortunately it fell a bit flat for me. There were parts/aspects of the book that I enjoyed and other parts that I didn’t enjoy.  I liked the side-by-side storylines of two very different characters that came together in the end to reveal a somewhat-shocking ending. It is only “somewhat” shocking because I definitely didn’t guess that this was how the story would end but I wasn’t blown away by the reveal either. My biggest beef with this book was how slow it moved (at least to me..) I was never on the edge of my seat.. I sometimes found myself bored. AND Quinn kind of got on my nerves. Her naiveté got a lot of eye rolls. She seemed quite dumbed-down for someone her age. On the other hand,  Alex was great. I found myself much more interested in his storyline.

All in all – This was a decent read. I would definitely recommend to those who enjoy this genre.. but it isn’t the best I have read. I’ve heard AH-MAZING things about Pretty Baby and plan on reading it soon (and I hope it doesn’t disappoint!)

What did you think of this book?

Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

