American Gods by Neil Gaiman (mini review)

 

FullSizeRender (4)

  • Title: American Gods
  • Author: Neil Gaiman
  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Publication date: 2003
  • Format: physical copy

Synopsis from Goodreads:  “Released from prison, Shadow finds his world turned upside down. His wife has been killed; a mysterious stranger offers him a job. But Mr. Wednesday, who knows more about Shadow than is possible, warns that a storm is coming — a battle for the very soul of America . . . and they are in its direct path.

One of the most talked-about books of the new millennium, American Gods is a kaleidoscopic journey deep into myth and across an American landscape at once eerily familiar and utterly alien. It is, quite simply, a contemporary masterpiece.”

Mini Review:

This is the second Neil Gaiman book I’ve read and I really enjoyed it! This book has a multitude of characters (old Gods and new Gods) which sometimes made it hard to follow but the story was really interesting and it held my attention to the end! I loved the idea of old Gods and new Gods battling for their place in America. I also liked the idea that people brought versions of their Gods with them when they immigrated to America. These Gods draw power from being worshipped by their people but, generations later, when a lot are forgotten.. they have to make do by blending in to society and living somewhat ordinary lives. It really humanised them. I want to learn more about mythology now!

Overall, American Gods was a great book with interesting characters. I will definitely check out Gaiman’s other books.

Rating – 4/5

2 thoughts on “American Gods by Neil Gaiman (mini review)

  1. The Past Due Book Review says:

    Welcome to the fold of Neil Gaiman fans! There is plenty more to read and discover and I am so happy you enjoyed American Gods. I am rereading it soon for a review of a limited edition I purchased and this mini-review just made me more excited to revisit that world. Brilliant post!

    • Shannon says:

      Thank you! I really enjoyed The Ocean at the End of the Lane and American Gods so I am looking forward to more Gaiman! I hope you enjoy your reread!

Leave a Reply

