Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon (mini review)

Snapseed

  • Title: Everything, Everything
  • Author: Nicola Yoon
  • Genre: Young Adult
  • Publication date: September 2015
  • Format: physical copy

Synopsis from Goodreads: My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Mini Review:

Wow! What a fantastic YA!

Everything, Everything is cute, fun, interesting, and heartbreaking all at once. Nicola Yoon does a fantastic jobs sharing Maddy’s story. I love the complexity of the story. This is more than just a love story, or a coming-of-age story, or even a story of family dynamics. It has raw moments that pull you in and it makes you feel the emotions along with the characters. Tough subject matters are present in the story.. so beware when diving in to this book. I want to give this book a higher star rating but unfortunately the ending was ruined for me thanks to people spoiling it on social media..grr. If you read a book please do not give away the one big plot twist in the story.. it lessens the story for the reader.

Avoid spoilers and dive in to this great YA book!

Rating: 4.5/5 

P.S. I really love the format of this book! The drawings, email exchanges, definitions, etc make the book super interesting and attention-grabbing! ❤️❤️❤️

Leave a Reply

