Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I NEED To Read (according to friends.)

20140730-120341-43421801.jpg

This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Here is a list of the Top Ten books I was told by friends that I ABSOLUTELY NEED TO READ!

1. Anything by Jane Austen. I apparently have been missing out..and I totally agree! I’ve been meaning to pick up a book by her but others have gotten in the way. I hope to fix that soon!

2. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. I have the first couple of book collecting dust on my shelves. I’m told it is a pretty good series. I love series’ so maybe I should get around to reading it!

3. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld. Again, a series I am told is super good. I WANT to read this!

4. The Selection by Kiera Cass. I had no interest in reading this even after having heard it was good..but I am kind of curious now.

5. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. Not sure if I ever will read this. Doesn’t peak my interest.

6. Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien. Ditto what I said about The Hobbit.

7. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. This is apparently one of those “everyone must read” books. I do want to read these!

8. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. A co-worker was raving about this book. I am mildly curious!

9. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. This is another one that a lot have said I must read. I may get around to it one day.

10. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. With the movie coming out last year this is one series I was told over and over to pick up. I have the first book sitting on my shelves…maybe I will pick it up soon.

Any thoughts on these books? What is your Top Ten?

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I NEED To Read (according to friends.)

  1. I had to read Jane Austen in school, never read her since, lol. Of the others, I’ve only read Tolkien. I loved The Hobbit and it is quite short. As to the trilogy, I found the first one fairly good, but got totally bogged down in the second (The Two Towers). Too much fighting and war scenes. Get on with it already, lol. The last was better, but none of them are worth a reread to me except for maybe The Hobbit.

    1. Did you enjoy Jane Austen?

      Thanks for your feedback on J.R.R. Tolkien! I think of the two I would probably give The Hobbit a chance. I saw the LOTR movies and didn’t care for the story all that much..and I heard the books are quite hard to understand. I don’t think I want to put myself through that lol.

      1. No, I didn’t care for Jane Austen then and dread to even contemplate reading her now. A big secret–I don’t care for Charles Dickens’ books either.

    1. Not really. I don’t mind some fantasy but it typically isn’t something I would pick up on my own unless I see tons of wicked reviews for. Perhaps I should give The Hobbit a chance! lol

      1. I’d say give it a chance, because I’m bias. And don’t worry, it’s nothing like The Lord of the Rings in terms of it’s not over-whelming, nor is it info-dump-overload on description and I find it very magical and a lot of fun!

    1. Glad to see your love for them! I definitely will pick these up at some point to read! I also heard the movies didn’t quite compare to the books. Shame.

  2. The only Austen book that I’ve read was Pride and Prejudice and I was quite surprised at how much I enjoyed it. The Vampire Academy series is good, disregard the movie. And, City of Bones and the whole Mortal Instruments series is like my favorite series ever. Although I do admit the first three books are better than the last three books. If you’re going to read TMI, I recommend reading the companion series, The Infernal Devices (Clockwork Angel, Clockwork Prince, Clockwork Princess), along with it in the order that they were published. Okay, I’m done now 🙂

    1. P&P seems to be a popular choice with Jane Austen fans. That may have to be the book I start with!

      Thanks for the suggestions! Just looked up The Infernal Devices and they sounds really interesting! 😀

    1. I saw the LOTR movies and they did nothing for me lol. But I heard The Hobbit was much better! Perhaps I will check it out. Thanks for the suggestion!!

  3. I will second the recommendation of Ender’s Game and even say that if you enjoy the first installment, Speaker of the Dead is better, though it’s very different from Ender’s. After that, it’s a bit of diminishing returns for the rest of the series .

    I cannot recommend the Selection novels. I listened to the first one while training for a half-marathon and it drove me insane. There were times I wished it was easier to skim an audio book because the completest in me wouldn’t allow me to not finish the book and see how certain threads were wrapped up.

    1. Thanks for the recommendation! I do want to pick it up and see what it’s about.

      Sorry The Selection wasn’t what you expected! I’m told it isn’t the best series but entertaining nonetheless. I’m the same way when it comes to finishing books..good or bad!

Leave a comment